HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTISuomiРусскийNewsAbout projectMemory pantheonExpeditionMediaPressLinksGuestbookCronicle of battlesPhotoarchiveDocumentsWar and fatesMemory and lawCoöperation of museumsTourism
Soldiers of the Winter War

Two months after the presentation of The Monument of the Winter War web-site on February 3-4 working seminar of the Russian-Finnish project of the same name was held in Petrozavodsk.

The project is financially supported and works within the framework of the Interreg 3A Karelia Eurounion program and is devoted to the events of 1939-40 in frontier territories of Karelia and Finland. It was not usual to speak about this military campaign unpopular for the USSR earlier, since because of mistakes of the Soviet command thousands of Soviet soldiers were lost in fights and have frozen in snow. Financial support to the project was also rendered by Suomussalmi Commune (Finland) and the Center of Manpower and Population Employment of Kainuu Region (Finland). The main coördinator of the project in Russia is Pawel Razinov, the head of the chair of practical psychology of the Institute of Post-Diploma Teacher' Training Institute of the Republic of Karelia.

The basic purpose of the project is building of the memorial near the museum of Winter War in Suomussalmi Commune (Finland) in memory of all fallen soldier both Finnish, and Soviet. In this territory there were fierce fights, and now, 63 years later, is was decided to build a monument to the lost soldiers.

The hard work in archives of both states began and is still necessary. The basic partners and participants of the project are Petrozavodsk State University, Institute of History, Language and Literature of Karelian Research Center of the Russian Academy of Science, Post-Diploma Teacher' Training Institute of the Republic of Karelia, Karelian State Museum of Local Lore, History and Economy and Military History Museum, University Joensuu (Finland), Finnish Military Museum, Helsinki, "Kainuun Sanomat" newspaper, Finland. The project combines research and practical activities directed on perpetuating of names of people, who died during the hardest fights in Suomussalmi region.

Historians conduct data gathering about destiny of civilians from Suomussalmi Commune, the basic information base for development of historical military tourism in Finland and Russia is created. Except for the memorial, the expocentre is created also.

As participants of the project have noted, interest to events of Winter War does not weaken, to which fact the all growing number of visitors of the site incluing from the different countries such as the USA, Ukraine, and the European states testifies. Concerning Winter War there are different opinions. The most popular version is that the USSR has lost this campaign to Finland. There exists guess-work that events of Winter War were conceived as rehearsal to forthcoming more scaled military upheavals. Whatever versions exist, the main figure in these events is the soldier indeed, who was carrying out the duty.

At the seminar the picture with the image of not completed yet memorial complex was shown - about twenty thousand stones stacked on extensive, approximately three hectares large, territory. Each stone is a soldier, whose young heart has ceased to beat in that severe winter that has anticipated events of Great Patriotic War for Russia.

- Each soldier is the son of his Motherland, - Pawel Razinov has told opening the seminar. - No soldier initiates war at his own desire. He will be the main figure during all work of the project.

Pawel Razinov has noted, that not historians, but journalists began to cover the first events of the Winter War.

Performance of journalist Anatoly Gordienko, who has told about the atmosphere of the despair which has captured the Soviet soldiers encircled without winter clothes, valenki, skis and meal, confirmed these words. The entire divisions fallen, and Mekhlis gave orders on executions of the Soviet commanders. Journalist Apu Sundelin carefully studies not only the history of military fights. He told about conditions of life under which soldiers lived, about the fate of the civilians who lived on the territory occupied by the Soviet armies. It is interesting, that young researcher Jussi Kamarainen from the University of Joensuu who arrived on the seminar to Petrozavodsk has become interested in destiny of the Finnish civilians. He has noted that 1700 civil persons from Finland have remained in territory of Russia as a result of events in Suomussalmi, and nobody in Finland studied their destinies. This is another tragical page of Winter War.

Dmitry Alexandrov, the participant of Winter War, spoke also. Dmitry Stepanovich will never forget fields sown with corpses of the soldiers.

- I perfectly remember the last day of war, - he continued. - By night from March 12 to 13 the commissioner of the division has gathered a meeting and has told that at 12 o'clock in the afternoon the warwould be over. An armistice. The are armies of allies were coming to help the Finns. As an answer there was someone's desperate exclamation: "It's a provocation!". The next day was remembered by horrifying shooting, roar of guns which were not ceasing till midday. Sharp at noon everything has abated, and in the terrible silence there was a shout of Professor Suhanov from Leningrad: "Dear granddaughter, I have remained alive!". Suddenly we saw that from the Finnish entrenchments about hundred soldiers have risen. They have risen in all growth, abandoned their submachine guns and came to us. We have also risen. There were embraces, tears, exchange of some small gifts. One Finnish officer said: "This damn war is over!". He wanted to exchange the weapon, but none of us dared such exchange, because for us the weapon was "state". Our commander was afraid to be shot for fraternization. Today I want to wish successes to the Finnish people and to thank organizers of the project!

Paavo Keränen, the coördinator of the Interreg 3A Karelia, has called this project unique. He has also added that its main purpose is not political. It is necessary to find out what was going on during the Winter War and the way these events affected the course of the subsequent military actions in the scale of world war.

Finland knows names of almost all its lost sons. The state of affairs is different for out country. Probably, exact figures of victims (at least among Soviet soldiers) will never be established. On the data from the Finnish sources the Soviet party has lost 23 000 thousand persons killed, Finns have lost about 800 persons. These figures differ from provisional given Russian military historians according to which our losses are less.

Except for the Karelian researchers, representatives of the public, and journalists, famos public figures and scientists from Finland have taken part in the seminar: the secretary of program Iohanna Keränen, the representative of Suomussalmi Commune Erkki Pullinen, the director of Paatteen Portti museum Marko Seppanen, the director of Institute of Military History of the Higher School of Defensive Forces of Finland Eero Elfvengren and others. The witness of many historical military events, journalist, writer and publicist Rudolf Sukiainen in due time engaged in interpreting military and diplomatic negotiations for Stalin and other heads of the country from Finnish has arrived from Moscow.

- Three hectares of stones is a terrible show, - Erkki Pullinen has told. - In this territory a tower will be constructed, and 105 bells of different size, by the number of days of the Winter War, will be established on it. Tolling of bells will emphasize melancholy of the "stone field". The monument will open on March 13, 2003, the day of the ending of the war, as a reminder to those who live nowadays and as a message to the future generations. It is the best way to work for the benefit of peace.

The participant of the seminar Major-General of reserve Valentin Gromov has reminded the words of Suvorov that "No war is not finished until the last soldier is not buried." "It is not the war, but coöperation that should bring us together," - he has told.

Natalia KRASAVTSEVA
The Official Site of the Republic of Karelia,
February 12, 2003

© Raatteen Portti, 2002–2004
© Karelian Institute for the Development of Education, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017

HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTISuomiEnglishНовостиИнформация о проектеПантеон памятиЭкспедицияМедиаПрессаСсылкиГостевая книгаХроника боевФотоархивДокументыВойна и судьбыПамять и законСотрудничество музеевТуризм
Солдаты Зимней войны

Спустя два месяца после презентации сайта «Монумент Зимней войне», 3-4 февраля в Петрозаводске состоялся рабочий семинар одноименного российско-финляндского проекта.

Проект финансово поддерживается и работает в рамках программы Евросоюза «Интеррег 3 А - Карелия» и посвящен событиям, происходившим в1939-40 годах на приграничных территориях Карелии и Финляндии. Об этой непопулярной для СССР военной кампании раньше говорить было не принято - из-за ошибок советского командования погибли в боях и замерзли в снегу тысячи советских солдат. Финансовую поддержку проекту оказали также: Коммуна Суомуссалми (Финляндия) и Центр трудовых ресурсов и занятости населения Региона Кайнуу (Финляндия). Главным координатором проекта в России стал Павел Разинов, заведующий кафедрой практической психологии Института повышения квалификации работников образования РК.

Основная цель проекта - возведение мемориала близ музея Зимней войны в коммуне Суомуссалми (Финляндия) в память всех погибших солдат - как финских, так и советских. На этой территории происходили ожесточенные бои, и теперь, спустя 63 года, решено возвести монумент погибшим солдатам.

Началась и еще предстоит нелегкая работа в архивах обоих государств. Основные партнеры и участники проекта - Петрозаводский государственный университет, Институт истории, языка и литературы Карельского научного центра РАН, Институт повышения квалификации работников образования РК, Карельский государственный краеведческий музей и петрозаводский Музей боевой славы, Университет г. Йоэнсуу (Финляндия), Военный музей Финляндии (Хельсинки), редакция финской газеты «Кайнуун саномат». Сам проект совмещает исследовательскую и практическую деятельность, направленную на увековечение имен людей, погибших в ходе тяжелейших боев в районе Суомуссалми.

Историки ведут сбор данных о судьбе гражданского населения из Коммуны Суомуссалми, создается основная информационная база для развития военно-исторического туризма в Финляндии и России. Кроме самого мемориала, создается и выставочный комплекс.

Как отметили участники проекта, интерес к событиям Зимней войны не ослабевает, о чем свидетельствует все возрастающее число посетителей сайта, причем из разных стран, в том числе США, Украины, европейских государств. По поводу Зимней войны существуют разные мнения. Самая популярная версия - СССР проиграл эту кампанию Финляндии. Высказываются предположения и о том, что события Зимней войны были задуманы как репетиция к предстоящим более масштабным военным потрясениям. Но какие бы версии ни существовали, главной фигурой в этих событиях был действительно солдат, выполнявший свой долг.

На семинаре был показан снимок с изображением пока еще не законченного мемориального комплекса - около двадцати тысяч камней, уложенных на обширной, примерно в три гектара, территории. Каждый камень - это солдат, чье молодое сердце перестало биться той суровой зимой, предвосхитившей для России события Великой Отечественной войны.

- Любой солдат - сын Отечества, - сказал, открывая семинар, Павел Разинов. - И по своему желанию ни один солдат не инициирует войну. Он будет главной фигурой на протяжении всей работы проекта.

Павел Разинов отметил, что первыми события Зимней войны стали освещать не историки, а журналисты.

В подтверждение этих слов прозвучало выступление журналиста Анатолия Гордиенко, который рассказал об атмосфере отчаяния, охватившего советских солдат, попавших в окружение и оказавшихся без зимней одежды, валенок, лыж и еды. Гибли целые дивизии, а Мехлис отдавал приказы о расстрелах советских командиров. Журналист Апу Cунделин тщательно изучает не только историю военных баталий. Он рассказывал о бытовых условиях, в которых жили солдаты, об участи гражданского населения, оказавшегося на занятой советскими войсками территории. Интересно, что судьбой мирного финского населения заинтересовался молодой исследователь Юсси Кямяряйнен из университета г. Йоэнсуу, приехавший на семинар в Петрозаводск. Он отметил, что 1700 гражданских лиц из Финляндии в результате событий в Суомуссалми остались на территории России, и историей их судеб в Финляндии никто не занимался. Это - тоже одна из трагических страниц Зимней войны.

Выступал и Дмитрий Александров, участник Зимней войны. Дмитрий Степанович никогда не забудет полей, усеянных трупами солдат.

- Я прекрасно помню последний день войны, - продолжал он. - Ночью с 12 на 13 марта комиссар дивизии собрал совещание и сказал, что в 12 часов дня - конец войне. Перемирие. В помощь финнам идут войска союзников. В ответ чей-то отчаянный возглас: «Это провокация!». Следующий день запомнился ужасающей стрельбой, грохотом орудий, не смолкавших до полудня. Ровно в 12 все стихло, и в страшной тишине - крик профессора Суханова из Ленинграда: «Внученька, я остался жив!». Вдруг видим - из финских окопов поднялись около ста солдат. Они встали во весь рост, побросали автоматы и пошли к нам. Тут и наши поднялись. Объятия, слезы, обмен какими-то маленькими подарками. Один офицер-финн говорит: «Кончилась эта проклятая война!». Он хотел поменяться оружием, но из наших на такой обмен никто не решился, потому что у нас оружие было «государственное». А командир наш боялся, что будет расстрелян за братание. Сегодня я хочу пожелать успехов финскому народу и поблагодарить организаторов проекта!

Координатор программы «Интеррег 3 А-Карелия» Пааво Керянен назвал проект уникальным. Он добавил также, что главная его цель - не политическая. Необходимо выяснить, что же все-таки происходило во время Зимней войны, и как эти события повлияли на ход последующих военных действий уже в масштабе мировой войны.

Финляндия знает имена практически всех погибших своих сыновей. Иная картина у нас. Возможно, точные цифры погибших (во всяком случае советских солдат) и не будут никогда установлены. По данным из финских источников советская сторона потеряла 23 000 тысячи человек убитыми, финны - около 800 человек. Эти цифры отличаются от примерных данных российских военных историков - наши потери ниже.

Кроме карельских исследователей, представителей общественности, журналистов, в семинаре приняли участие известные общественные деятели и ученые из Финляндии: секретарь программы Иоханна Керянен, представитель коммуны Суомуссалми Эркки Пуллинен, директор музея «Рааттеен Портти» Марко Сеппянен, директор Института военной истории Высшей школы Оборонительных сил Финляндии Ээро Элфвенгрен и другие. Из Москвы приехал свидетель многих военно-исторических событий, журналист, писатель и публицист Рудольф Сюкияйнен, занимавшийся в свое время переводами с финского языка военных и дипломатических переговоров для Сталина и других руководителей страны.

- Три гектара камней - это страшное зрелище, - сказал Эркки Пуллинен. - На этой территории будет сооружена башня, на ней установят 105 колоколов разного размера - по количеству дней Зимней войны. Звон колоколов будет подчеркивать тоску «каменного поля». Откроется монумент 13 марта 2003 года - в день окончания войны, как напоминание ныне живущим и как весть будущим поколениям. Это лучший способ работать на службу мира.

Участник семинара генерал-майор запаса Валентин Громов напомнил слова Суворова о том, что «никакая война не окончена, пока не похоронен последний солдат». «Нас должна сближать не война, а сотрудничество», - сказал он.

Наталья КРАСАВЦЕВА
Официальный сервер органов государственной власти Республики Карелия,
12 февраля 2003 года

© Raatteen Portti, 2002–2004
© Karelian Institute for the Development of Education, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017