HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTINewsAbout projectMemory pantheonExpeditionMediaPressLinksGuestbookCronicle of battlesPhotoarchiveDocumentsWar and fatesMemory and lawCoöperation of museumsTourism

Leningrad Military District Headquarters refutation

During the second three-week period of action in Finland the were no serious changing at the front. If in the first three-week period serious operations, resulting in creating place-the-arms for Soviet troops on Finnish territory took place, during the second three-week period only minor clashes of reconnaissance and small infantry detachments took place. Unexpected severe frosts let Finnish troops to lighten their position, but they were unable to use favorable conditions. But the foreign press, especially French news agency Gavas, had the time to open big libel operations against the Red Army. The Headquarters does not have time to refute every day slander fabrications of foreign news agencies. But it is the Headquarters opinion that it is quite useful from time to time to make resume of this slander campaign in open the real faces of these "newsmakers".

...

2. Foreign news agencies, especially news agency Gavas, with the reference to the same "sources", state that at the battle near Suomussalmi Soviet 44th division "lost 14 000 men". This statement is no more than a supernatural fantasy of its authors. 44th division had less than 10 000 men at the front line, so how could it lost more than 14 000? In reality the Soviet troops lost no more than 900 men, most of them due to unexpected severe frosts and not to the actions of Finnish troops. And foreign gossipers are keeping a thorough silence that Finnish army lost there more than 2000 killed or wounded and that Finnish Schutskorps brutally killed their wounded, not to let any "tongue" into the hands of the Red Army.

...

We understand that the owners of the foreign news agencies instructed them to hold the propaganda against the Red Army. So that is their "propaganda" - a great heap of lies, put together to justify their existence. But what is the real price of the propaganda, based on the lies and not on real facts? Is the meaning of "propaganda" of so called "defenders of civilization" in the constant deception of the public? We had never expected that the representatives of the foreign press could degenerate so fast.

"Krasnaya Zvezda" newspaper
N 11, Junuary 14th, 1940

© Raatteen Portti Museum, Community Suomussalmi, 2002–2004
© Post-Diploma Teacher' Training Institute of the Republic of Karelia, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017

HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTISuomiEnglishНовостиИнформация о проектеПантеон памятиЭкспедицияМедиаПрессаСсылкиГостевая книгаХроника боевФотоархивДокументыВойна и судьбыПамять и законСотрудничество музеевТуризм
Опровержение Штаба Ленинградского военного округа

За вторую трехнедельку боевых операций в Финляндии не произошло на фронте существенных изменений. Если за первую трехнедельку имели место серьезные операции, окончившиеся созданием плацдармов на финской территории для советских войск, то за период второй трехнедельки дело ограничилось в большинстве случаев обычными стычками разведывательных отрядов и небольших пехотных частей. Внезапно наступившие сильные морозы значительно облегчили положение финских войск, но, несмотря на это, последние не сумели серьезно использовать благоприятную обстановку. Но зато, иностранная печать, особенно французское агентство Гавас, успели за этот период развить большие операции по части фабрикации клеветнических измышлений в отношении советских войск. У штаба нет времени опровергать ежедневно каждое клеветническое измышление представителей иностранных агентств. Но штаб считает, что было бы не бесполезно время от времени подводить итог клеветнической кампании этих господ и вскрывать их подлинное лицо.

...

2. Иностранные агентства, особенно агентство Гавас, ссылаясь на те же «источники», утверждают, что в боях в районе Суомуссалми 44-я советская дивизия «потеряла 14 000 человек». Это утверждение представляет собой сверхъестественную фантазию его незадачливых авторов. 44-я дивизия всего-то имела на фронте не более десяти тысяч человек, – как могла она потерять 14 тысяч человек? На самом деле советские войска имели здесь потери не более 900 человек, причем потери эти объясняются больше внезапно наступившими морозами, чем действиями финских войск. Но иностранные сплетники старательно умалчивают о том, что финские войска потеряли здесь убитыми и ранеными не менее 2 000 человек, причем финские шюцкоры зверски добивали своих раненых, чтобы не оставлять «языки» в руках советских войск.

...

Мы понимаем, что иностранным агентствам поручено их хозяевами вести пропаганду против советских войск. Они и ведут эту «пропаганду», нагромождая кучу лживых измышлений, чтобы оправдать свое существование. Но чего стоит пропаганда, основанная не на фактах, а на обмане? Систематически обманывать общественное мнение – не в этом ли состоит «пропаганда» защитников «цивилизации»? Мы не думали, что представители иностранной прессы могут пасть так низко.

Газета «Красная звезда» N 11 от 14 января 1940 года

© Raatteen Portti, 2002–2004
© Karelian Institute for the Development of Education, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017