HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTINewsAbout projectMemory pantheonExpeditionMediaPressLinksGuestbookCronicle of battlesPhotoarchiveDocumentsWar and fatesMemory and lawCoöperation of museumsTourism

The 163rd infantry division

In August 1939 in Tula region was formed the 163rd infantry division, consisting of 529th, 662nd and 759th infantry regiments and 365th artillery regiment. The division was deployed on the basis of the infantry regiment of 84th infantry division.

In September 1939 the division was concentrated at Latvia border and was included into the 47th infantry corps of the 7th army.

At the end of October - early November 1939 the division was transferred to Karelia and included into Special corps of the 8th (later - 9th) army.

From November 1939 it took part in the battles of the Winter War. In December 11th the division was encircled by Finns near Suomussalmi. During December 27-30 the formation was practically destroyed. The commanding officers of the 662nd regiment were shot as "traitors".

After the war the remnants of the division were moved to Novgorod region. In April 1940 the division had only 753 men in the list. By the middle of April the division staff was raised to 6000. In July 1940 there begun the transformation of the unit into motorised division with the dislocation at Pskov. The 25th tank regiment, formed from the remnants of the destroyed in the Winter War 34th light tanks brigade and tank regiment of the 25th cavalry division, was included into the division, replacing the disbanded 662nd infantry regiment.

© Raatteen Portti Museum, Community Suomussalmi, 2002–2004
© Post-Diploma Teacher' Training Institute of the Republic of Karelia, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017

HENINEN.NETRAATTEEN PORTTIНовостиИнформация о проектеПантеон памятиЭкспедицияМедиаПрессаСсылкиГостевая книгаХроника боевФотоархивДокументыВойна и судьбыПамять и законСотрудничество музеевТуризм

163-я стрелковая дивизия

В августе 1939 года в Тульской области на базе стрелкового полка 84-й стрелковой дивизии была сформирована 163-я стрелковая дивизия в составе 529, 662, 759-го стрелковых и 365-го артиллерийского полков.

В сентябре 1939 года дивизия была сосредоточена на Латвийской границе в составе 47-го стрелкового корпуса 7-й армии.

В конце октября - начале ноября 1939 года ее перебросили в Карелию в состав Особого корпуса 8-й армии, затем 9-й армии.

С ноября 1939 года она участвовала в боях Зимней войны. 11 декабря 1939 года соединение попало в окружение финских войск под Суомоссалми. 27-30 декабря 1939 года соединение подверглось фактическому разгрому. Командование 662-го полка за военные неудачи было расстреляно перед строем.

После войны остатки дивизии отведены в Новгород. В апреле 1940 г. дивизия имела всего 753 человека личного состава. В середине апреля численность дивизии была доведена до 6-ти тысячного состава. В июле 1940 г. началось переформирование в моторизованную дивизию с дислокацией в Пскове. Вместо расформированного 662-го стрелкового полка в состав дивизии включили остатки разгромленной в Зимней войне 34-й легкотанковой бригады, переформированной вместе с танковым полком 25-й кавалерийской дивизии в 25-й танковый полк.

© Музей Raatteen Portti, коммуна Суомуссалми, 2002–2004
© Институт повышения квалификации работников образования Республики Карелия, 2002–2004
© Heninen.net, 2002–2017